Personal Stuff – Job

I am like way excited now that I’ve been working @ my new job four months! I’m a total geek and loving it. I am going to use the word ‘I’ and ‘my’ a lot in this message. My location is the company HQ and we have training classes for tech support and sales personnel, among others (e.g., admin and execs) that run continuously and there is so much opportunity! Our boss, at the corporate meeting for all employees, was like, “I want to make sure that I keep the right people so advancements will be forthcoming” or words to that effect. I want to learn everything there is to know about my industry (Business Intelligence). I want to learn programming in SQL, HTML, Java and Flash.

My boss says I can take the classes as long as I keep up with workflow. He mentioned in our interview on the phone that he’s looking for someone who will do grunt work and become a manager, then teach the admin stuff to new hires. I’m stoked. I just got certified in some of the technology that runs my division (it’s like the first among three steps to becoming an engineer in our systems, then I could, hypothetically, be a consultant!). It’s an exciting career track; we deal with data warehouses and metadata (information about information). Our company serves public and private sectors (e.g., CIA, NSA, DOD as well as Google, Accenture, IBM and basically almost the entire Fortune 500).

So that’s an update. Let me know how things are going where you are – send a note, append a comment to my blog, etc.

Laters

Leave a Reply

